International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

The travel industry has experienced a major boom over the last century. As travel tickets keep getting cheaper most of the time, it has become easier to travel across the world and, though tourism has some advantages as well as disadvantages. On the one hand, the economic boost that accompanies a successful travel industry is highly beneficial for the country and its government, because developed tourism increases the socioeconomic factor of the hosting nation. When tourists across the world come to a certain country, they start to spend their money, which then goes to the nation’s economy. Moreover, the growth in the number of incoming tourists leads to greater demand for infrastructure improvements and expanded public social services. Infrastructure improvement is very useful for ordinary people as it facilitates the improvement of the quality of life they lead. For example, if a private company builds a restaurant which soon or later becomes popular with tourists, the bigger the revenue it generates the more taxes it will pay in the end. On the other hand, the rising influx of holidaymakers also creates a number of problems. To begin with, tourist cities are always very noisy, busy and crowded, and of course, for people who live in those cities, it comes as a disadvantage. In addition, the streets of the city become dirty and the natural environment suffers because of this. On top of this, it is also possible that a tourist may not be ready for a new mentality and traditions, and may experience a culture shock. In the world, there are a lot of different cultures, however, not everyone is ready to assimilate into another, even for one week. It’s a really big problem and drawback for international tourists because if they don’t understand and embrace the local traditions their travel experience may turn into a nightmare. In conclusion, it can be said that there are more benefits than drawbacks to international tourism development in a country. In fact, the bigger number of tourists leads the government to invest more in cities which improves the quality of life for citizens and residents of the country.