Traditions are about the past and innovation is about the future, and it has been argued that we need to let go of traditions for the sake of progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this? What role should traditions have in our lives? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Traditions normally created by society it has been shaped by cultures and habits by a community for long time. While innovation is the idea for creating, shaping, and helping society in the future. Some argue that traditions must be abandoned to foster progress, but I disagree with this statement. I believe both traditions and innovation are playing significant role in our lives. On the one hand, tradition is cultural backbone in society. It is providing identity and continuity. They connect to us in history and heritage, this background that shaping us now. For instance, in Indonesia we have " batik ". It is technique of producing colored design on textile, it creates pattern by hand-made, every fabric has unique design. It takes million rupiahs for one piece of batik. The weaknesses of traditional ways, firstly because it is hand-made, it will take long time to finish for one fabric. Secondly, if wrong pattern cannot be undo. Lastly, the production is limited. On the other hand, innovation is vital for development and improvement, it is offered technology advancement. In the modern era, batik able to print. There are a lot of manufacture producing print- batik. Now people can produce hundreds batik a month, minimize risk wrong pattern because the mechine able to set up the pattern and variety of design. The technology is very beneficial for the economic due to mass productions. In conclusion, I believe that traditions provide foundation for continuity and stability in our lives, therefore we cannot let it go. While innovation drive us to make improvement. By finding balance and relevance both tradition and innovation would be beneficial for our lives in the future.