Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal informations such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. some people say that this information may be relevant and useful, others disagree. discuss both views and include your opinion.

In today's job market, some employers solicit personal information from candidates; like marital status and favourite pasttimes past times. Some argue that these details can be of use as they may provide insights into the applicant's character and routines that could, in turn, affect their performance if hired. Others, however, suggest that individuals' personal lives are irrelevant and useless for employers. Whilst some may claim otherwise, it is clear that these details are important as certain personal preferences are likely to hint as to the way potential employees may perform at work. On one hand, some may see the solicitation of personal information as an unnecessary as the way people choose to live their lives outside of work are very unlikely to transate into their work performance. Moreover, there are a cadre of instances where people partaking in activities that some may consider irresponsable, like drinking and partying, actually perform very well in their professions. Elon Musk, for instance, is a notorious for attending parties outside of working hours. Despite this, he has successfully established a number of large businesses like Tesla and SpaceX. Contrarily, some people believe that certain personal information can, indeed, have negative consequences in people's work performance as they can have negative physiological consequences that prevent employees from performing as expected. People that pursue marial arts as a hobby, for instance, may struggle to even come to work after a fight. A well-known example of this may be Connor McGregor, who stated that he would constantly fail to come to work because of the damage he received during fights. To sum up, although not all personal information of employees are relevant to employers, it is certain that some, like those mentioned above, are clear indicators of performance, and thus, are important points of consideration when evaluating candidates.