In many countries, students leave high school without learning how to manage their money. Why is that the case? What could be done to tackle the issue? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It has been noted that in many states high school learners graduates without a single concept on money management. This is because the school curriculum does not include finance as a unit and also scholars are young to understand money complexity. The significant solutions is to revise and include it in the syllabus as well as involve their parents on promoting saving culture. Firstly, as far as money is concerned, anyone can fail to utilize it properly and end up into regrets. money is a basic thing since we utilize it in our day-to-day lives. Many schools equip learners with knowledge on how to make income generating projects but fail to guide them on how to manage it when it is on the hand because finance management is not among the subjects taught in both lower and in the high schools. Additionally, the learners who are completing high school are of young age with probably no additional role apart from studying and they solely depend on their guardians for financial support therefore they see no need to learn on how to manage the resource. For instance, a study done in the USA by students at the Florida University showed that only 15% of scholars had basic concept of how to utilize and save money. Nonetheless, to curb the deficit of money management the state should review the curriculum and add finance management as a compulsory subject. This will enable all students to be equiped with knowldege on how to make money, utilize it and save for a rainy day. For example, UK has introduced an additional finance course for both learners be it in lower or high school. This will result them being able to spend the little money they get wisely and also the skills will be beneficial in future when they will secure jobs and start earning as they will have no issues with money. Further, interdisciplinary approach whereby parents are included in teaching the children money matters will be of help as it will be a walk in the park for teachers while tackling it in the class. This will also improve their discipline when it comes to spending any coin they have. In conclusion, I believe students lack skills to manage money since no one talks about it in school. Therefore, if added as a unit it will help students from different backgrounds and they will be able to manage money wisely.