🔶Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugar products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. 🔸Do you agree or disagree?

Several consumables are produced rich in sugar, which results in health deterioration. It is believed that the price of such products should be higher to discourgae consumers from using more sugar. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with that statement, as there is better method to use, and price increase would only affect the less wealthy group in society. There are several reasons why I believe making sugary foods and drinks more expensive would not solve the problems of overconsumption. First and foremost, higher price would only prevent the poor, while the affluent people still can afford the new tags. As a result, the rich would still buy such products and suffer from the consequences. Moreover, increasing price would widen the gap between classes in the community, in which those who are wealthy can enjoy the pleasure offered by high level of sugar, as opposed to those who are from a lower socioeconomic background. That would, in fact, create more issues for society. Furthermore, I believe there are numerous solutions to the problems. One of this would be education. For example, the government should promote educative campaign to raise awareness of the negative effect which overconsuming of sugar can cause to the health. Additionally, schools should instill in their program more physical curriculum to encourage active lifestyles among young children, which can help reducing the detrimental influence of consuming high calories products. In conclusion, I am not in favor of the idea that increasing price of high suar products can prevent customers from using them, as it would not affect those who can afford and create inequality in society. Besides, I think that there would be better measures which can tackle the issue more effectively.