In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

A GAP year (a year between finishing high school and starting university studies) slightly becomes popular among teenagers. There are several reasons that can lead to this decision: some individuals want to start earning money right after the school graduation and some people want to travel while they are young and have enough time. This essay aims to discuss advantages and disadvantages of young people making a decision about taking a GAP year. Firstly, one of the main advantages that make this decision good is that the young individuals will have work experience at a very young age that will help them to develop many skills, since a good job can help to grow not only professionally, but also as individuals. For instance, one of the most common jobs among teenagers is to work as a waiter. This work can help to increase time management skills, as employees have to come to their workplace on time, along with communication skills, since waiters have to chat with different people, guests of the restaurant they're working at, a lot. Another advantage of taking a GAP year is that undergraduates will have a lot of time to relax, spend some time with their friends and family and travel. This can have a positive and even motivational effect on teenagers, since the last year of studying in school is very time consuming and people have to study a lot, so at the end of a senior year they are willing to rest after all the exams. For example, I have a friend who decided to travel and have a break from studying after her school graduation. This decision helped her to rest both physically and mentally, she even found new hobbies. After that year, her university studies were so much more interesting for her, as she chose a major that she was particularly interested in and was able to successfully finish the bachelor program. Secondly, it is important to note that this decision can also have some disadvantages, such as the fact that after a whole year without repetitions of all the information that was studied at school, it might be hard for the students to remember everything properly. For example, people who decided to go to university right after they finished school will be more likely to get higher grades, as they do not have to revise all the topics that were studied before, while the students who decided to take a GAP year will spend more time on revising and preparing for the exams. It can even affect the grades in a negative way, since the exam assessments might not be “a piece of cake”. Additionally, a significant disadvantage may also occur when talking about work employment. According to statistics, employers will more likely give a job place in a prestigious company to a person with a university degree rather than a teenager with only a school degree. This can lead to a problem that an individual who did not study at the university will have more problems in the future with finding a stable and well-paid job. To conclude, even though the decision of whether to take a GAP year or not is controversial, since there are many advantages and disadvantages, it is very individual, since for some humans it will bring interesting experiences in both traveling and working and for some people this decision might not be the best.