Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some state that students should be able to study their choice of preference in secondary-level education, while others argue that they should be restricted to more useful subjects which are related to science and technology. Even though learning science and technology related subjects gives better job opportunities, I believe that the job satisfaction provided by learning what you like is more important in the long run. On the one hand, majoring in science and technology related subjects in universities will provide the individual with a variety of job opportunities. For example, students who studies science and technology in their universities have more options as there are many fields to choose a job from. This is because science is the base for many occupations in health, technology, engineering, agriculture and so on. Therefore, when a student focuses mainly on science and technology related subjects during their secondary education period, they cover the basic subject matter which is required for many jobs. However, this alone will not guarantee future satisfaction. On the other hand, university students should learn what they like because of the satisfaction it brings. When choosing an occupation, it is important to choose something you enjoy doing, therefore it is crucial to pick a subject you enjoy learning. Job performance tends to increase in higher percentages when people love what they do for a living. For instance, famous singer, Taylor Swift once said that she is more passionate about her work than anyone else and her love for what her do keeps her performance at a higher level. Therefore, I believe that learning what you prefer as a university subject is more important. In conclusion, although learning science and technology in university will provide with various job opportunities, I believe in freedom of choice when picking a subject as job satisfaction is more beneficial in the long-term.