In many countries, people now wear western clothes such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing. Why is this the case? Is this a positive or negative development?

In some nations, individuals tend to use Western-style attire instead of traditional dress. In my opinion, this a result of globalization and this change ends in reducing the importance of cultural heritage which is a huge demerit. Nowadays, men and women are fond of fashionable items especially when it comes to clothing. This clearly states the effects of global change. In the past centuries, consumers were limited to clothes that they either made by themselves by knitting or buying from local shops. In recent days, buyers can get products from any part of the world through Internet. Additionally, numerous Western clothes are comfortable and they add value to individuals. However, these habits spread across the nation particularly because of social media. For example, modern members of public are influenced by Western culture through advertisements. In my opinion, western fashion eradicates the traditional manner of dressing that has been followed for many years. Even though Western wear is cozy, traditional wear has its own identity. I also believe that, the remuneration of workers who are involved in the making of cultural clothes is being affected by this change. Moreover, the companies that have the most power in terms of profit are the western clothes manufacturers when compared to traditional clothes producers. Members of society should give importance to traditional attire to support local manufacturers and to know their culture that has been passed on for generations, For example, people prefer using western clothing brands like Nike and Puma rather than native brands. To conclude, wearing Western clothing is a result of the spread of consumerism and individuals should be more concerned about their tradition with respect to clothing.