Some people think that cultural traditions may be destroyed when they are used as money-making attractions aimed at tourists. Others believe it is the only way to save these traditions. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are two Schools of thought regarding cultural traditions. While some argue that cultural traditions might be deteriorated when it is used as a tourist industry, others suggest that this is an attempt to preserve these traditions, which sounds more valid to me. On the one hand, it can be true that cultural traditions can be damaged if it used as a lucrative activity. The reason is local people might be tend to copy the tourists’ behaviour and forget about their culture. For example, Istanbul city in Turkey has a lot of tourists but this mass of travellers cause some changes in peoples’ costumes such as trousers and jeans. Today locals tend to wear shorts and casual instead of formal clothes. Additionally, governments try to redesign buildings and historical constructions in order to more attractive and eye-catching appearances, resulting in the loss of traditions and cultures. On the other hand, obviously, the main instruction to retain monuments and cultures is to make money from tourists. This way helps to governments to keep traditions alive by income that receive from visitors. For instance, there are a lot of museums in France that attract many travelers around the world. These museums have entrance fee which helps to the France’s government to retain their traditions by profit from tourists. Moreover, governments can build some stores that sell souvenirs that are related to history of the country, due to make profit and try to keep tradition alive. In conclusion, the heritage of communities can be lost by foreign people in many ways but every tradition needs to be protected by some instructions and the best way is financial support by travellers.