In Britain, when someone gets old, they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In countries like Britain, old people prefer to go to old age homes that are run by government and these homes have nurses to take care of the aged persons. I think that the government must pay for these homes to provide a safe and secure environment for the elderly people at least to a minimum standards. In this essay I have provided the reasons for why the government must runs these homes. If you consider any developed economy such as the United Kingdom, an average person pays up to 30% of their income as a tax to the government. These higher taxes are charged on the citizens to provide a better quality of life. I have seen many old people who are living in the streets because they do not have any income and the social security paid by the government is not sufficient to cover their medical expenses and to afford a home. Therefore, I think these homes operated by the state provides necessary support that is required by the older people and the government in turn justifies the tax it has collected from a person. Nowadays, if you notice any family, all members are not fully available to takecare of their grandparents. These old ones have to manage themselves all alone untill the family members comes back from work or school in the evening. The mental health of these old people is negatively impacted by being lonely and they start suffering from mental illness. I have seen this happening to my grandmother and the doctors advised us to send her to a old age home because they can be with other people of their age to share their emotions and to get the required attention. This significantly helped to improve her health. As I explained above, we have to consider the fact that the global population is getting older and these kind of homes and support systems must be operated by the state to provide a equitable and safe future when we all get older.