Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

Nowadays, most of the felons after serving their time in jail tend to break more laws. There are several causes contributing to this trend, as well as some solutions to this matter. To begin with, many individuals find it hard to accept ex-inmates into society due to the social stigma. Not to mention, job opportunities that might be difficult for those with criminal records. On top of that, housing and other loan also become tiresome. This results in more crime will be occurred in order to provide for themselves or their families. In addition, people with mental health issues or addiction problems also can commit more sinners because of a lack of support in the communities. For instance, a person with a mental disorder, namely bipolar will act differently from normal people because they are not stable. Subsequently, this leads to more violent. On the other hand, the government plays a big role in ensuring the safety of people in the country. Therefore, rehabilitation programs must be provided to those ex-convicts so that they can improve and change, meanwhile helping them reintegrate into society. Next, the authority should also establish a job scheme for ex-inmates. By doing this, both parties will have their benefits and illegal acts can be reduced. Lastly, the family and the public support are also vital, thus this can help a person to overcome their past. For example, a former felon named Jeff Henderson who has served a decade in prison for cocaine is now known as a famous chef in Las Vegas. Therefore, support and love can change a person. In conclusion, lacks of support, the social stigma that leads to absence of a career and mental illness, all can be managed with the aid of the government, family, and the public. Therefore, It is important to be taken care of before more crimes are committed and for the safety of the population.