In today's world people spend a lot of money on appearence. Why does this happen? Is it a positive or negative development.

In this new era people invest lots of money in looks. Appearance plays a significant role in society, It happens due to many reasons. In my opinion, it is a negative development which will be discussed further. To start with, the reason causing this, firstly the competition which is given in our society for example, According to the survey, job recruitment demands good working people for their organisation. Secondly, the lifestyle of the people is now changing, they have disposable income, which they spend on expensive treatments and surgeries, for instance, According to the health department, 40% of people go for facial surgery. Furthermore, the influence of advertisement is also the cause behind this, because people want to enhance their looks for example people spend on cosmetics for fair skin. However, it is a negative development because spending lots of money is a waste, instead, the person can invest in helping others or in other work. In addition, using cosmetics can damage the skin, For example, According to the research, 50% of cosmetics and treatments are not good for the skin and health as they contain harmful chemicals which can cause skin diseases. Furthermore, it has a negative psychological impact on individuals as they will not accept their again signs such as wrinkles and greying of hair. In conclusion, people spend lots of money on appearance because of competitiveness in society, lifestyles, job requirements and the influence of advertisements. It is a negative development because it can physical health issues and also affect mental.