**There are severe social consequences to housing shortages in cities and only the government can solve these problems.** **To what extent do you agree or disagree?**

Many believe that solely the government is able to find solutions to the social consequences that are caused by the housing shortage in urban areas. This essay agrees with this statement because inadequate housing leads to a rise in homelessness and threatens the health of the population. Overcrowded and inadequate living conditions can lead to various health risks. Running water and a warm place to sleep are fundamental needs that every individual requires to stay healthy. If too many people live together under one roof without being able to ensure a basic level of hygene, bacterial or viral infection might spread easily. This inevidably lead to more people getting hospitalized and long-term health issues. Consequently, the head of state should introduce public health initiatives and housing regulations to ensure safer living conditions. Furthermore, without providing affordable housing opportunities, the amount of people becoming homeless will substaintally rise. Particularly families with a lower income simply can not afford their rent anymore, therefore, forcing them to live in the streets or under bridges. Government programs that aim to solve this problem can include funding for temporary shelters or long-term solutions. The city of Frankfurt in Germany is a prime example where the government is fighting homelessness by providing a free and warm place to sleep. This is possible through fundings pumped into charitiy charities organisations, dedicated to help those without a home. In conclusion, I strongly believe that the government is responsible for providing adequate housing in cities for everybody, if they want to prevent increasing homelessness among their citizens or the spread of dangerous diseases.