In some countries, secondary schools aim to provide a general education across a range of subjects. In others, children focus on a narrow range of subjects related to a particular career. Which do you think is appropriate in today’s world?

In some parts of the world, secondary schools prefer teaching children general knowledge on various subjects whilst others believe that it is better to expose children to the specific classes that may prepare them for a distinct career. While it may be seen reasonable to rely on one area, I believe that learning general information is more beneficial. On the one hand, it is understandable why focusing on particular subjects are advantageous because you get a chance to delve into specific areas and acquire them extensively. For example, we have special schools in my country that provides education on several main areas of science such as Chemistry and Biology. Based on statistics, the children who were graduated from there are more likely to pursue professional careers such a doctor and a scientist. However, despite the abovementioned arguments, I am of the opinion that it is better to learn multiple disciplines for a number of plausible reasons. Firstly, learning subjects like music, art, and, technology other than mathematics and literature broadens our horizons and make us more intelligent. For instance, I attended various intellectual games and the topics that I covered in school helped me to answer complicated questions effortlessly. Secondly, as the secondary school is too early to decide which career path you want to follow, it is not right to force children to choose an occupation that they will engage in for a long time. They might change their mind as they discover their true potential and passion over time. That is where different subjects can come in handy by opening them new doors. Take my classmates as example, we were divided into four classes according to various careers. However, some of them changed their direction when they reached to 10th grade since they decided that they want to do something else. In conclusion, although focusing on specific fields may have some prospects, I believe that being familiar with different subjects is far more important in our ever-changing world.