In some schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects (e.g. literature) and boys tend to choose science subjects (e.g. physics). Why do you think this is so? Should this trend need to be changed?

In today’s society, the majority think girls are more likely to choose arts subjects such as literature while boys tend to choose science subjects like physics in schools and universities. In this essay, I will identify the reasons for the case and whether I think this trend should be altered. Firstly, girls tend to make choices of choosing art subjects because they think that they are more capable in completing essay based questions in subjects like literature. For example, females are more into the act of reading and exploring writing techniques which are essential elements in the field of literature. If they think they are a better writer than a problem solver which is vital in the field of science. This will result in a greater proportion of girls choosing art subjects. However, I think this trend should be changed because they should be encouraged to study science subjects so they could learn about new things instead of focusing on what they are good at. Secondly, boys may decide to select science subjects as they would like to challenge themselves in understanding the intricacies of sciences. For example, subjects like physics and maths can be really hard as the course proceeds which requires a lot of critical thinking and problem-solving techniques. Males are more willing to take on these challenges and study the complexity of sciences. Nevertheless, this trend should not be continued as they should be practicing their essay writing techniques because they are fundamental skills used in universities or in the future. In conclusion, I think due to their confidence level, the difference in sex may result in different references. But, I personally believe that this type of pattern should be modified because both boys and girls should be incentivised to participate in different subjects as they will never know the interesting aspects in each subjects until they try it themselves.