Art is considered an important part of a society as well as an expression of its culture. Do you think it is important for children to be taught art? Do you think children should be encouraged to focus on art rather than other subjects

It is commonly believed that cultures are defined through art and it is fundamental to societies. I think that teaching art subjects at school will develop students’ creativity and assist them in expressing their thoughts and emotions. However, I tend to disagree with the idea of limiting school curriculum to only art as it will not suffice their educational demands. First of all, art makes children more creative. For this reason, adding art subjects to school programs provides an opportunity for children to learn how to think out of the box and basically teaches them how to think creatively. As it is evident, the history shows us that there are no restrictions for an artistic mind, they always create mind-blowing masterpieces that fascinate a world. Moreover, promoting a creative mind will guarntee a better life as they are supposedly more creative in finding new solutions for problems that they will later encounter with. Another indication is that art is a medium for children to convey their feelings and thoughts. Considering young children ’s limited linguistic knowledge, it would be difficult for them to define all their emotions and intentions using words. Although, they are mostly capable of transferring them through paintings. For this reason, many child psychologists refer to kids’ drawings and paintings in order to analyze their mental processes. Even though art is essential for children ’s development, it should not be taught to the detriment of other subjects. It is necessary for children to be involved in all sorts of disciplines including mathematics, linguistic and physical education. In addition, there has to be balance between different subjects in school curriculum and art only needs to be taught alongside other subjects. In conclusion, art is important for children to express their thoughts and emotion which may be hard to be said through words as well as it increases students’ creativity. However, it should be considered not to dominate art over other subjects and create a balance in school curriculum.