Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists and not local people. Why is the case? What can be done to attract local people?

Nowadays, various museums and historical places are mostly visited by travelers from other cities and countries instead of local individuals. In this essay, I will consider the reasons and also solutions for each of them. To begin with, one of the reasons why the majority of visitors to museums and historical sites are tourists is the loss of curiosity. While the native people have spent most of their lifes in school to study the history of their local area and the country, the foreign people do not have the opportunity and just know their nations. Therefore, travelers tend to visit museums and heritage sites to explore more about other cultures. One of the excellent examples is a Google survey of Vietnam in 2023, keywords about tourist attractions such as “Da Nang” and “Ba Na hills” were found the most by surrounding nations like Korea or Thailand instead of Vietnam. Moreover, the price of tickets should be considered as another reason for fewer native people want to go to historical places. While exchanging the price for other countries' money can be cheaper compared with their nations, this can be too pricey and unaffordable in Vietnam. One of the possible solutions to attract more local people to visit historical sites is collaborating with local schools. By incorporating those educational places, the museum can attract a huge number of students by combining the experiences of heritage places with history lessons. For instance, recording a study of Vinschool students, more than 80% of students want to travel to museums to study Historical lessons more effectively. Furthermore, having marketing strategies is also a solution to having more visitors which are local people. By promoting on several social media platforms such as Facebook, Instagram, and TikTok, museums and historical places can attract a huge number of visitors, especially young people. For example, by marketing on TikTok, Hoa Lo Prison Relic has attracted many young individuals to visit and check in. In conclusion, the reasons that led to this case are the loss of curiosity of native individuals and the unaffordable ticket prices. Some possible solutions that can help to address this issue are to collaborate with local schools and have smarter marketing strategies.