In the future all cars, busses and trucks will be driveless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

In the following years, all vehicles including cars, buses, and trucks are predicted to have self-driving features, which means the vehicles would be operated by the system, not the person. This essay will discuss whether the benefits of this outweigh the drawbacks. Nowadays, self-driving vehicles have been discovered, for instance, Tesla cars that were developed by Ellon Musk. With the self-driving system, drivers no longer have to carefully watch over the road along their journey, resulting in the increase of lenient time for the driver, making them able to do another activity while waiting to arrive at their destination. Additionally, the cars are equipped with detailed safety procedures, breaking all the harmful possibilities that might occur during driving such as crashing another human or animal on the road. For that reason, the owner can trust their safety and time to this technology. However, the safety procedures do not always guarantee the passenger’s security. This driverless vehicle mostly works by the algorithms that allow the driver to input the first command on whether the vehicle should be moving forward or backwards. In recent years, a driverless car incident happened in Hong Kong when a self-driving car fell into a lake due to a drunk driver wrongly inputting the first command. Another case was driverless public transportation in Jakarta named LRT created 1-hour delay on the journey because an error occurred when the train should make a turn along the way. There is no denying that system made by computer can sometimes make an error, moreover, driverless vehicles also raise the sense of confidence for drunk people to ride their cars when in truth it is still dangerous for them. In conclusion, it is not true that the benefits of self-driving vehicles outweigh the downsides. When it is indeed saving extra time for the passengers, nonetheless the security’s drawbacks are more destructive for them.