An increasing number of children are overweight which could result in many problems when they are older both in terms of their health and healthcare costs. Why do you think so many children are overweight? What could be done to solve this problem?

Nowadays more and more children are becoming obese. That is to say, the majority of kids are suffering from heart problems which stem from being overweight. This can bring about serious issues in the future regarding their overall health and also healthcare expenditure. In this essay I will address the reasons behind high number of overweight children and also I will mention some solutions to remove the existing problem. One of the main reasons behind obesity is extreme use of fast food. Today, kids prefer eating fast food more than home made meals. It is because fast food is usually easy to prepare and it is mouthwatering. However, fast food contains high calories and it is absolutely unhealthy. No only does fast food make children obese, but also puts them in high risk of serious diseases such as diabetes, high blood suger and cholesterol. Mostly, the ingredients for preparing fast food include oily doughs and fatty toppings. Another issue goes back to the cheap price of pizzas, burgers, and sandwiches. It is interesting to note that, you can find a food stall almost every where selling affordable fast food. Take Macdonald as an example. It has branches in all cities and it provides different food options which all come with reasonable prices. To deal with the problems, the government can enforce a law to raise taxes on fast food. This will lead to more expensive takeaway food and hence increase the quality of materials being used. Therefore, it will be very likely to order a healthy pizza rather than a fatty one including enormouse amount of shreded cheese. Yet, another effective solution is to educate people and revise eating habits.generally speaking, In this machinery life people tend to have a sedentary lifestyle. Little, do people spend time exercising or trying to get fit. Families should make people aware about leading an active lifestyle. If children are encouraged to stay healthy, they will avoid eating fast food and hence they will pay attention to their wellbeing. In conclusion, fast food seems to capture all children's heart because of being delicious and inexpensive. However, by educating the young generation and raising taxes we can change inappropriate lifestyles and have healthier bodies.