1.- It has been suggested that cars and public transport should be banned from city centres and only bicycles be allowed instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A certain group of population agrees on disappearing public transportation and cars from the city centers with the idea of allowing only bikes. This essay completely disagrees with this statement since most of the people who live in the city center depend on cars and public transportation to move to different places being their main or unique way of transport and not all of the citizens possess the knowledge of how to ride a bike or are able to learn. One of the main reasons why this essay totally disagrees with disappearing public transportation and vehicles such as cars is because these are the primary and sometimes only mode of transportation of most of the population in different city centers. Everyday people from different ages (school kids, working adults, seniors, among others) need to travel to short or long distance places. This happens thanks to the public transportation or own vehicles that allow citizens to get to their destiny safely and on time. For example, I currently live in the suburb of Neutral Bay and need to travel everyday to Bondi where the childcare centre where I work resides. Therefore, in the mornings I take a bus which brings me to my working place in only 30 minutes. Another reason why I disagree with the previous idea is that although many people would love to ride a bike, unfortunately they do not have the skills to do it. Plenty of this population did not get proper instruction on how to ride a bike during their childhood or adolescence making it even more difficult to learn the skills at an advanced age or being in possession of enough time to do it. For example, most senior (not most of) citizens, who merely depend on public transport or vehicles to move to different places, would find it pretty difficult and even unsafe in becoming competent enough to transport themselves in bicycles. In conclusion, although banning cars and public transportation from city centres have been advised, I totally disagree with this idea since it is the primary way of transportation for most (not of most) of the population and not all people possess the skills or have the opportunity to become proficient enough to only ride bikes.