Some people think the government should pay for health care and education, but others believe it's not the government’s responsibility. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many people believe that it is the government’s responsibility to take care of its citizens ’ welfare, including providing free health care and education, while others contend that it is not necessary. In my opinion, a balanced approach would help tackle this issue more effectively. On the one hand, proponents of the first point of view have several reasons to justify their position. Firstly, they point out that citizens pay so many kinds of tax on a yearly basis that they should have the right to benefit from the public funds without paying additional cost. Secondly, citizens are the major factor which decides one country’s prosperity. A country that takes good care of its people, will have the possibility to develop comprehensively. For example, if citizens could access to free schooling regardless of their socioeconomic status, the intellectual level of the population would improve and consequently help work on unemployment problems. As a result, this would not only enhance countries’ prosperity but also social harmony. On the other hand, individuals who support the alternative stance also have points to prove their opinion. They assume that public finances has limitation and should be spent efficiently. Thus, there are many urgent issues requiring the authorities ‘ attention such as urban infrastructures and national security. Hence, this will put a dent in public coffers if national leaders could not decide what should be their top concern. From my perspective, although it is the government who is responsible for people’ lives, they should pay full cost for only education and support the public in healthcare services with other measures. I personally think that well qualified education is such a main key for a country to thrive, so it is an essentially worthy investment by providing free schooling to all citizens. However, speaking of healthcare, paying full cost for all relatable services is not really a suitable method which can be disadvantageous in several ways. In explanation, receiving too much welfare may lead to the lack of awareness in the population of taking care of themselves. Instead of providing free healthcare, governments should wisely allocate the budget respectively for each category’s importance then bring in new policies for healthcare services such as providing them with insurance that is suitable for each kind of socioeconomic status. Therefore, the public funds could be used more effectively and thoroughly. In conclusion, although both points of view are reasonable, I think citizens should give a helping hand in healthcare payment to lift some weight off the government’s shoulders and have the fund invested in education and other needs of society.