Young offenders should be treaated as adult criminal? to what extent do you agree or disagree

Juvenile offenders should not be treated as adult criminals. I disagree with the statement because of the following reasons. Youngsters are not as mature as their counterparts, peer-pressure in groups, and the transformation of behaviours in teen is easier. Primarily, young people’s brain is not fully developed in comparison to mature person as the former are still in transitioning phase to be an adult, as a result juvenile offenders does not have any idea why they committed a crime. For instance, young criminals are often interviewed about the crime and majority responded, “ they did the dumbest thing or have no idea why they committed ”. Additionally, peer-pressure is a driving force to commit a crime because, in that age group, these individuals look for acceptance, search for identity, and imitate behaviour of friends, naiveness, and lack experiences. Moreover, child abuse, poverty, jealousy in intimate relationship contributes to criminal activity and these factors should be considered when dealing with them. Moreover, young offenders’ behaviour can be transformed easily in comparison to older, as they lack guidance, if proper guidance is given by the people in authority, It will help them to build themselves in a positive way. Similarly, in Puran jail, 2016 sports, religious study, and counselling was introduced to young people, the impact of these factors were calculated an found that people were less likely to return to jail if they get proper help. In conclusion, above mentioned reasons should be taken into consideration and should not be compare with the older criminals when it comes to treatment.