In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Some people tell children that they can do everything if they try hard enough. In this message, there are both advantages and disadvantages. Firstly, this message is cheerful and hopeful. Some children who are lack of confidence tend to underrate their ability. These kinds of children tend to not face challenges and just want to avoid the situation. However, this message tells them that you can do whatever you want. It makes children take the first step and makes children experience challenges. In addition, there is no excuse in this message. It represents if you did not make it, it is because you did not try your best. What you can do is try harder. It pushes up children's limits and they can make their best performances in the end. Eventually, they can make unexpected results. There are many positive effects in this message however there are still negative sides. This message could make children guilty and it could make bad results. As I mentioned above, this message includes the meaning that if you did not make it, it is because you did not try your best. However, in failure, there are a variety of reasons and sometimes it is not our fault. This message makes children only blame themselves and let them down. In addition, it blocks them to find real reasons why they failed. If they did not find the actual reasons then they will never overcome in similar situations. Moreover, it gives a huge pressure and stress. If people keep pushing up children with this message, it will cause worse performances eventually.