Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Some people suggest that the circumstances of a crime, and the reasons for committing it should be taken into consideration when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views about the penalty system. While some of them argue that punishing should be determined in accordance with the situation, others think that every criminal needs to be sentenced by certain punishments. In spite of the fact that fixed penalties are deterrent for criminals, from my perspective, considering circumstances of crimes is more humane option. It is a fact that crime rates have been increasing around the world for last 2 decades. Especially in some domains, it has been paramount issue of authorities. In order to combat this problem, radical precautions can be implemented such as approaching every criminal as they are the same. This may be scary for those who think to commit crime even before planning stage. If a person certainly knows to get life sentence as a result of any kind of murder, for instance, this may save life. Not every individual, however, thinks to be a criminal. Life is full of unpleasant surprises and meeting one of them is out of human will. In this context, significant number of criminal activities were done unintentionally. Take a protecting husband as an example. Imagine, someone cracks into his house and he fights and kills that man reluctantly in order to save his family. Should this man be sentenced to life penalty? I, personally, never support such heavy punishment for him. This would be utterly unfair. In conclusion, sentencing criminals by fixed penalties may deter criminals from involving crime acts, but, taking reasons of crime into account is more healthier means of judging.