The free movement of of goods Across national borders has long been a controversial issue. Some people argues that it is necessary for economic growth, whilst others claim that it damage local industries. Discuss with both views and gove your opinion.

People have different views as to whether the free trade of products is important to economic development. In my perspective, despite some people declaring that it adversely affects local businesses, I firmly believe that it brings about many more benefits. On the one hand, there are three aspects of why the free movement of products can cause negative impacts to minor industries. One of the major is that many local stores do not have the ability to compete with foreign goods in terms of finances and quality. Moreover, the influx of foreign products undermines local products, leading to business closures. Another point to be considered is cultural identity. To illustrate, if a developing country such as Thailand imports several of China's goods without appropriate regulations, then it is likely that the number of products from China will overwhelm that of Thailand, as is happening today. On the other hand, it is commonly believed by other individuals that the free movement of products definitely leads to various advantages including economic enhancement. The first contributing factor is that it creates more job opportunities, which is indispensable to decreasing inequality and criminal activities in society. Furthermore, consumers will gain benefits from this approach. Instead of using only products from their community, allowing free trade would provide more options for them to choose what is best for them. Lastly, it promotes innovation since the products from the exported country will be shared with the destinated countries, leading to more research and development of those goods. In conclusion, although there are a variety drawbacks of the free trade, I am convinced that it leads to more advantages for society.