Air transport is increasingly used to export fruit and vegetables to countries where they cannot be grown or are out of season. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

There is an increasing trend of using aeroplane to transport fruit and vegetables from one country to another where they do not produce or are out of season. The benefit of transporting fruit and vegetable is people easily have those and their nutrient value. Moreover, the drawback is exporting fruit and vagetables causes a lot of food wastage, because they have to preserve for so long for export. Exporting and importing fruit and vegetables are beneficial, because some countries cannot grow some specific fruit and vegetables, for the weather condition and climate. Therefore, if fruit and vegetables can be exported to those countries, people would get the proper food value and taste of those fruit. In addition, exporting fruit and vagetables by air transport is one of the remarkable way of earning money and boost economy of any country. For example, Bangladesh, exports a significant amount of vegetables to its neighbouring country, India, and earn10 billion US dollars per year. However, exporting raw vegtables and fruit has some drawbacks as well. While exporting, raw fruit and vegetables should be preserved for a long time, because exporting goods from one country to another is time consuming. Therefore, a lot of food waste occour occurs, which is not acceptable. Additionally, transporting goods from one country to another requires a lot of fossil fuels, which leads to air pollution. For instance, in Canada, the primary reason of air pollution is transporting raw fruit, because the country is entirely dependent on imported fruit and vegetables. To conclude, transporting fruit and vegetables is necessary, as it balances the food and nutrient value among different countries. However, the air polution caused by food transportation cannot be avoided.