The best way to solve the world’s environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. Do you agree or disagree with this view?

Environmentalism is a major poular trend particularly for the new generations of youngsters in the twenty-first century. Many argue that the most efficient way of preserving the environment is a surge in price of fossil fuels and I cannot agree more. I wholeheartedly advocate that this strategy will lead to lower levels of contamination not only from cars but also from factories. On the one hand, a policy to spike the price of gas will introduce a critical juncture which has the potential of leading to less dependence on private vehicles. For example, if people figure out that they cannot afford the high cost, they would definitely entertain the idea of utilising the affordable public transportation. Furthermore, since cars are a major source of contaminating the environment, as greater numbers of citizens get rid of their personal autos, there will be less pollution and air quality will improve tremendously. Thus, the fewer fuel-burning and contaminating combustion engines on the roads bring about a brighter prospect for air quality. On the other hand, factories are another overwhelming contributor that pollute the environment immensly which will witness an enormous pecuniary hardship in order to afford the increased prices. If factories increase the efficiency of their fuel burning engines, they can actively participate in preserving the nature. Electricity manufacturing plants release hazardous contaminating pollutants to the air while their efficiency rate is below 50% globally, for instance. Enhancing the efficiency not only will result in more electricity production but also will lead to less quantity of released pollutants which are detrimental to humans and living species alike. In conclusion, I unequivocally endorse the adoption of this policy to increase the price of fossil fuels in order to achieve superior outcomes in preserving the environment and improving the health of nature including humans. Nevertheless, this approach results in less personal cars being used to commute everyday and also will lead to adoption of modern and more efficient equipment by factories.