These days many young people are spending less time doing outdoor activities such as hiking, mountain climbing, and enjoying nature. What are the reasons for this? How can we encourage them to do more of these activities?

It is true that, nowadays youngsters spend less time outside doing various physical activities. This essay will explain the root reason and suggest some solutions to tackle this problem. To begin with the cause, advancement of technology is changing the lifestyle of our younger generations. With today's advanced technology young people are offered variety of interesting options that they can choose to do at their free time. For example, they can play a video game, watch a movie or even shop online. All these various activities come with a small amount of energy compared to outdoor workouts. To illustrate more, imagine sitting behind your desk playing an adventure game, it gives you the same mental effect of doing outdoor adventure while, it doesn't make you physically tired, so it wouldn't be odd if you rather to stay home. To remedy this issue, parents and schools should put activities such as hiking and mountain climbing in their schedule. For instance, parents could arrange picnic plans for weekends and take children out in the nature, play different games and let them spend some time outdoors. This can make a good memory for children and help them to value reality not just virtual environments. Schools can also take students for mountain climbing as a school camp. In this way students can have fun spending some time in the nature with their classmates and can again gain their interest for activities which doen't envovle computer devices. In conclusion, although younger people may want to stick with the technology of the day and leave older useful activities but parents and schools should take some steps in introducing them to the outdoor sports and make them enjoy their time in the nature.