Some people think that studying history is a waste of time while others think it is essential to learn history .Discuss your opinion and both the view points

Studying history has been a subject for discussion for a long time now. Some may argue that it is important to know what has been so we can learn that what consequences may follow after an event. Some, on the other hand, dismiss history as a pointless subject due to the fact that is the of the past and of no importance to what is happening today. While no one can prove that nothing of history is of no significance, people may argue a large portion of history is of great conquests and the state of lives of past kings and queens, a life so distant of our daily routines. For instance a working class citizen the story will find no correlation between his life and the life of the people living in the roman empire, as a result they would find learning about them purposeless. In my opinion however, though it is true that history narrates what has been, it still rings true. We can learn an immense amount from history because for every action that we might take and for every event this happening now, there is a great chance that someone else has done something similar and we can learn from it. As someone of great esteem once said: history is not the study of the past but a window to the future. Overall, the subject of history and whether or not it should be studied will remain a moot point. But in my view, learning the vast hisroty of our kind and race is not without its' merits and it is not, by any means, a waste of time.