Some people view teenage conflict with their parents as a necessary part of growing up, whilst others see it as something negative which should be avoided. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.[844]

Despite its prevalence, the role of parent-child conflicts remains a topic of debate. While some individuals claim that these relational conflicts are disruptive, breaking the harmonious ambience of the family, others assert that it is a necessary part of human growth. This essay aims to discuss the rationales of both perspectives and explain why I approve of the latter view. On one hand, there are certain valid reasons why some individuals believe that conflicts and disruptions between parents and children have negative consequences and are best avoided. The most pertinent issue is that the tension and stress from these arguments can make the home environment suffocating, causing a breakdown in parent-child relationships. Arguments may overshadow the positive aspects in the family such as love, empathy and support, leading to strained relationships and long-term consequences in the child’s social and academic functioning. When conflicts have gone beyond children ’s abilities to handle moments of disengagement and misunderstandings, children are left with prolonged emotional turmoil and may become more withdrawn and self-isolated, or in extreme cases resort to maladaptive coping mechanisms like substance abuse or self-harm. However, negative consequences only occur when family arguments reach an extreme level, and usually, with parental intervention and guidance, situations can be much better and even beneficial to children ’s growth. On the other hand, I agree that parent-child conflicts act as natural catalyst for children ’s growth. Healthy process of conflict and resolution aids children in developing emotional maturity. When parents handle relational disruptions optimistically, children are taught to work through disconnections in a calm manner, as they experience and learn to regulate negative emotions like anger and anxiety, as well as communicating their needs and thoughts effectively. Without these opportunities to enhance emotional well-being, children may struggle in the complex social circle of disruption and reconnection, thus not being able to response healthily to arguments in social relationships, for example with friends, coworkers and employers. Furthermore, conflict resolution allows children to form their own identity. Indeed, by asserting their personal values and beliefs under parental guidance, children can form their own moral compass and decision-making skills, as well as internalize concepts of right and wrong, thereby becoming more sympathetic and respectful of other people’s perspectives. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that arguments and disconnections between parents and children are a natural part of child development. Given a positive negotiation and compromise process, children can reap a host of essential skills that prepare them for future life. Parents need to take proactive measures to timely resolve the relational disruptions, fostering a beneficial family environment.