Some people say that the best way to reduce traffic and pollution is the government to increase tax of petrol (gasoline). Do you think there are more benefits or more drawbacks?

in today’s world, overexploitation of resources like gasolines is a major threat to our survival. Some people believe that the best that we could to save ourselves from pollution and eliminate traffic is to surge the levels of the taxes on the cost of petrol and diesel. I would be discussing both pros and cons of this strategy in the following paragraphs. To begin with, one of the main advantage behind this cause will be less pollution in the surroundings. If more and more people prefer to use public transportation to work then there would be less private motor vehicles and cars on the roads. Therefore, it helps in reducing the smoke levels in the air. Moreover, lower levels of pollution will further reduce global warming effects and skin cancer related diseases. Secondly, governing Bodies will get favoured from both of the sides through rise in the tax levels on gasoline and increased revenue on public transportation. Overall, it benefits the cash flow in the country. On the flip side, there are many disadvantages associated with it. Firstly, people will be get affected by longer wait times in travelling due to high demand of the public transportation. And,it would have direct impact on employees concentration levels at work. As long queues and high wait times at stations will lead to more fatigue and drained energy levels. Secondly, people who live countryside and use to travel to cities for employment in their private transport will still prefer to choose their own motor vehicles due to less frequent bus and train schedules at night time. These situations, thus leads to more and more people to still opt for private transport despite the rise of taxes on fuel. In conclusion, I believe that disadvantages outweighs the advantages. As, there are more valid reasons behind choosing private transportation because of its leisure and its own convenience.