In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Do you think the advantages outweigh disadvantages for young people who decide to do this?

Recently, the gap year problem has raised public awareness. In some parts of the world, teenagers graduated from high school are normally encouraged to have an extra year for working or resting. Personally,the benefits brought by this trend are far more than its drawbacks. apparently, I have to admit that gay year may indeed make some anxiety for both parents and students by wasting their much time and money to some extent. Due to the lack of self-control ability, some students do not have a clear plan in their gap year and may eventually just stay at home for the whole year instead of doing something meaningful as their parents wish. especially for a poor family, resting for a year may increase the financial pressure while it has little sense for children's development making them feel nervous and anxious. Although there are also some weaknesses, they can all be addressed by making a routine and negotiating with other family members in advance. so I believe that there are more advantages to have a gap year after graduating from high school. The main one is that some students can take advantage of this period of time to have a complete rest so that they can not only reduce the pressure from their busy study at school but they can also get fully ready for university life in the following year. Furthermore, going to work or travel can benefit them a lot by which students can gain more experience about the career chosen and their abilities can also be exercised such as communication or self-care which has little chance to get from school. In conclusion, as I mentioned above, taking a gap year can provide students an opportunity to take a rest and gain more social experience. Although there are some drawbacks, they can all be addressed with some measures adopted.