The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is considered that internatinal government should support other types of transort and insert new laws that would control car ownership and use. I fuuly agree with this statement and think that new ways of transportation should be encouraged and car ownership must be restricted at certain degree.   First of all, downfall of the car industry would recover and strenthen ecology because of decrease of greenhouse gas emition emission. Vehicles emit large amount of carbon dioxide into the atmosphere, worsening quality of air and leading to problem of a global warming day by day. Nevertheless, if other types of transport partly replace cars, it will have positive effect on this ecological situation. For instance, encouraging trains or metro that use electricity as fuel would have great outcome on our environment and citizen's health. Secondly, I think that if car ownership would have some restrictions, especially in big cities, then traffic on roads would be much free. Nowadays, everyone can own unlimited number of cars, and if it get restrained, number of vehicles will suddenly decline. Because of the excessive number of vehicles on cities, roads become saturated, and it leads to long-lasting traffic congestions. For example, in Almaty, since opening of the "Metropoliten", heavy traffics became freer during rush hours. That's why, it is crucial to regulate number of car and start to rely on alternative transportation methods. To conclude, I strongly believe that alternative transports and car ownership regulations is beneficial for society, because it will lead to better ecological situation and less traffic jams.