Fewer and fewer people choose to ride bicycles when going outside. What do you think are the cause? What can be done to encourage people to cycle?

In generation ago, riding bicycles was considered an extremely healthy and popular activity, and in some countries this is still true. However, in many parts of the world, there has been a sharp drop in the number of young people who choose to ride bikes. I believe that the growth in the size of cities and the deterioration of the urban cycling environment are the main reasons for this. The government should take steps to change this situation. The first reason why riding bicycles is no longer popular is that the increase in commuting distance. That is to say, with the advancement of urbanization and the expansion of cities, it seems impossible to meet the needs of longer distance between the firm and home by bicycle. Hence, many people prefer to commute by using more efficient and comfortable transports like buses, subways or private cars. Another cause is that the urban cycling environment has become worse and worse. Nowadays, bicycles lanes have become narrow and are even often occupied by vehicles, these all pose the threat to the cycling safety. Therefore, less people will prefer cycling. It is undeniable that riding a bike is benefit for our physical and mental health, so measures should be taken to entice and encourage people to be more active in this choice Firstly, government can put more sharing bikes at the subway station, so that people are able to ride a bike to the final destination. In addition, the government could built special lanes for cyclists. In this way, more people would have the incentive to use this old-fashioned way to commute.