Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for qualifications. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are different views on whether higher education students should put all of their concentration on their major or they can learn other subjects simultenously. While there is no limit on knowledge exploration, I believe it is much more efficient if college students only focus on their main subjects. The main advantage of giving the students the opportunity of studying other subjects rather than their primary subject is that they can learn what they are really passionate about. In other words, when choosing a major students may consider many factors one of which is career prospects. Career prospects have a direct impact on their future job oppurtunities and therefore on their future income so they may put this factor above their interest and choose a major which can lead to better financial situation. Being able to minor another subject give them a chance to learn about the subjects that they are interested in while guaranteeing their future career. For example, I had a friend who was interested in both quantum physics and programming, due to job oppurtunities a programmer but she couldn't let go of quantum physics so she studied that subject as well. On the other hand, in my opinion each subject has a lot to say itself and requires deep and percise studying. If you spend a lot of time on you main subjects you will get to know new aspects of them and you will gain skills that regular students may not have. In today's competetive world in order to win a job you should be better than other applicants, you should have more knowledge, useful skills and experience. For instance, you need to have various projects related to job you're applying for on your cv. Studying another subject is time consuming and it prevents you of gaining further knowledge in your main subject so it is more valuable if you put all your effort on one subject. In conclusion, some university students have a taste on trying other subjects simultenous to their major subjects but some others rather to focus on their main studying. I agree with the latter, it is better to concentrate on a single subject and earn better qualifications.