Some people think that it is better to educate boys and girls in separate schools. Others, however, believe that boys and girls benefit more from attending mixed schools. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While the proponents of single-sex education argue that it is more efficient to teach boys and girls in different educational establishments, the opponents believe that it is more effective to place both in the same schools. Although educating children in single-gender schools may help them focus on their studies, I believe it is better that they are trained together because this will get them ready for the reality of their future work. Single-sex education is considered a good option when choosing the types of education for children because it prevents adolescents from involving in love relationships, which will negatively impact their learning performances. Unless they are taught in schools where only single-gender students are allowed, love will be a major distraction they have to encounter unavoidably, particularly during the course of their high school time. To prevent their children from being disturbed by this kind of social interaction, many parents in highly religious countries, such as Saudi Arabia and Israel, choose to send their offspring to single-gender schools in the hope that they will solely focus on their studies. However, I think this is not a practical way to educate children, and mixed schooling would be a better option to prepare children for the future world of work. It is believed that when children are enrolled in the same school, regardless of their gender, it would greatly benefit their learning outcomes and ultimately future careers because they have already been trained in environments that stimulate real workplace contexts. Provided that they were assigned to work in a group, which requires interactions between male and female pupils, they would be able to practice the ways in which future professional duties are supposed to be carried out – discussions among diverse groups of people. For instance, in Australia, many state schools, where both boys and girls are welcome, are in high demand because parents believe that the diversity and inclusiveness that those schools embrace have a significant impact on their offspring’s learning and future employment. Thus, I think it is more beneficial that children are taught in the same school, regardless of their gender. In conclusion, although sending children to single-sex schools could potentially prevent them from certain distractions, I believe it is in the best interest of children to be taught in the same schools as it better prepares them for future employment, which normally requires knowledge and understanding of diversity and inclusivity.