Studies have shown that most criminals have low levels of education. Because of this many believe that the best way to reduce crime is to educate prisoners so they can get a job after being released. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Education is a corner stone of building any healthy structured community and increasing nations welfare. Since the researches affirmed that there is a negative relationship between education and crime levels, as these to variables are moving in different directions. These results made a lot of people think that, the most effective way to lower the crime level is to focus on prisoners’ education and learning curve which will help them to work after being free. I strongly agree with this view, because education represents a worthy investment which will improve the communities’ economic profile and enhance nations’ quality of life. In developed countries, governments know that education is kind of investment in people and pays the highest return in the long term compared to investing in other assets by decreasing the unemployment rate and increasing the national income. Since criminals are representing a part of country’s human capital, the governments should increase its investment in them by education to reduce unemployment rate. Furthermore, the crime level decrease means an increase in tourism and foreign investment as they feel safe on them selfies and their investments, which will increase the country’s gross domestic product (GDP). However, the education of criminals will enhance the society’s quality of life by increasing national security level and connects the different community segments with each other in a healthy civilized way. In my experience, education protect the country from a lot of threats inside and outside like terrorism, which will increase the national security. Furthermore, criminals are feeling they are isolated from the people and disconnected after they released as they have been judged from everyone. Thus, education will help them to reconnected with the people, learn from their mistakes and integrated with the society. To conclude, criminals are humans who should deserve a second chance through investing in their education in order to enhance nation’s economic welfare and people quality of life.