Task 2: The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Science has improved for thousands of years, and it has had plenty of results in people’s lives, both positive and negative. However, there is an argument that the most essential aim of science is to improve people’s lives. From my perspective, I totally agree with this opinion. It cannot be denied that science sometimes has negative effects on humans. To be more specific, great amount of scientific research from well-known scientists has been used incorrectly. For example, the exploration of Uranium-235, which is a research of Marie Curie, has been misused to create nuclear bombs. This resulted in two huge explosions in Hiroshima and Nagasaki in 1945, which caused serious injuries and thousands of deaths. In addition, some biological inventions require humans as test subjects; therefore, it can lead to serious lifelong damage to those who are tested. However, the aim of science has not changed since its first appearance, which is to improve people’s lives. It is apparent that there is a huge number of inventions improving our living conditions. For instance, the light bulb, which is one of Thomas Edison’s inventions, have opened an era of artificial light. Moreover, some research in the field of medicine also meets people’s needs. An example for that is Vaccines for COVID-19, which is the key for the world to minimize the danger of this infectious disease. The result is quite apparent since this virus is totally disappeared at the moment. To sum up, despite many negative impacts on humans, the first aim of science is still meeting the needs of people as well as improving their living conditions.