Some people think it would be a good idea for school to teach every young person how to be a good parent. Do you agree or disagree with this option ? Describe the skill a person needs to be a good parent.

The upbringing of a child is a very demanding task and a few people advocates that a subject on parenting must be added to school curricula. However, I disagree with this notion to a large extent because majors are of immense importance in this era. The reasons to support my stance are elaborated in following paragraphs and I would also discuss a few traits of being an ideal parent. To begin with, the proponents of above view opines that by adding parenting into the syllabus, pupils may learn a few skills and most likely would use these learned traits, when they will become parents in future. But, this assumption is very difficult to achieve because students and tutors interests are more inclined towards exam subjects such as, Maths, Science etc. as these topics are of practical importance. Hence, parenting should not be included into the school curriculum. On the flip side, opponents advocates that more emphasis must be given to the major subjects. In fact, it is an undeniable truth that this century belongs to technology and we should prepare students for the same. However, it is only possible if they will learn these subjects in their initial years of schooling. To illustrate, according to the World Trade Organisation, most likely by 2050 there would be around 50 billion new jobs in IT sector and students with science background will be benefitted from it. Thus, we must not divert students interest to learn parenting skills in young age, which they can learn later on. As a matter of fact, being a parent requires certain characteristics in a person. Firstly, an individual should be multi-tasker, as he would probably dealing with many things at a time with a baby. Secondly, ability to cope in pressure situations that usually occurs with kids. To sum up, more priority must be given to learn science and technology, because this would help young ones to have a settle career in future. However, the child upbringing skills can be learned later on in life.