Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Other say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both side these views and give your own opinion.

Some people argue that environmental problems like the loss of of plants and animal species in not a major problem and there are other issues that need to be addressed first. Whereas others show concern about this and say that it's an equally important problem. Although the extinction of the species may not have a direct impact on human beings like poverty, famine has. I believe that it does have a long-term effect on our food chain and indirectly affects us. When a living organism gets extinct it usually doesn't affect us. Whereas issues like poverty, unemployment and famine have an influence on our lifestyle and health. Therefore they consider it to be a problem which is more important than the species extinction. For example, when a flower called zenous which was found in the Amazon jungle got extinct, in 2018, it had no direct bad effect on people as it was never used by them nor it have any short-term effect. Hence in such cases, it's always seen that such problems are neglected. Where on the other hand, some say that such losses affect the food chain and in the long run can damage our biodiversity. When a species is lost then all the other creatures who were dependent on it are also in danger leading to a reduction in their population. Moreover, this can lead to damage to our planet in future. For instance, according to a article published in 'The Hindu', in 2020, due to heavy poaching of lions in the African jungle resulted into extinction. Therefore, the hunting of herbivores by these lions for food dropped, this caused the population to increase drastically, which caused the loss of grasslands due to the heavy eating of grass, finally after 10 years there was soil erosion occurring in that area. As a result, I agree with the view that the loss of flora and fauna should be treated as an important issue. In conclusion, loss of species may not have an direct influence on human beings but it does have an long term effect on Earth which indirectly affects us. Therefore, such issues must adresssed by government and tried to be solved as quickly as possible.