In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweight the disadvantages?

Some people believe that, having elderly population is burden for government, other people believe that it is important to society. While it is true that ageing population might creates several problems, I believe that advantages of having elderly people outweight the disadvantages. There might be several disadvantages for both society and governments. Firstly, young people work for elderly person's medical treatment and this cause some taxation problems. Governments have to invest money and build social infrasturactre for elderly people who does not able to take care themselves. Secondly, If you walk into a hospital in my country, you are likely to see a lot more elderly people than you did in past. In fact, this causing significant problems as there is a shortage of beds. On top of this, one of the biggest problems these days is dementia. Even if old people still fit, they may not be able to look after themselves. They may have to live with their children or be cared for in home, which can be expensive. However, not all old people become ill. Those who remain healty can enjoy a happy old age as long as they have saved enough money. People are much active in their sixties ans seventies than they used to be and this can only be a good thing. They have time to enjoy their retirement and do a range of activities that they could not do when they were work. Thus, they provide tourisim income for governments. They can also help look after their grandchildren, which is a great benefit for working parents. In addition, we utilize their wisdom and life experince. To sum up, I believe that a longer life expextancy is abviously advantageous, but no one wants to live too if they only cause problems for their family and society.