In the present day, social media plays an important role in young people’s lives. Many people believe that it enhances creativity and global awareness, while others argue it could negatively impact their behavior and attitudes

In the present day, social media plays an important role in young people’s lives. Many people believe that it enhances creativity and global awareness, while others argue it could negatively impact their behavior and attitudes. In the following paragraphs, both points of view will be discussed in detail before conclusion is reached. On the one hand, there are many advantages which social media provides. The significant one among them is creativity. The internet has vast amounts of interesting information for learning and inspiration, as it gives digital space for sharing ideas and opinions. Nowadays, every aspect of news present on social media such as economy, financial, business, politic, civic, science and environment, this literacy news promotes global awareness for teenagers in every home. Additionally, medial platform provides teenages with avenues to express themself artistically and innovatively from creating and sharing videos on youtube, facebook or instagram, this leads to improve positive self-esteem. On the other hand, this platform can also have adverse effects on young people. Social media addiction and excessive screen time can lead to social avoidant and decrease communication skill in real life. Moreover, online bullying is a major issue causing potential drawbacks on teenages, as a result of depression and mental health issues. Lack of cybersecurity can put personal information or individual identity at risk. In conclusion, while social media offers various advantages, such as creativity, knowledge and self-esteem, it is important to consider the potential negative impacts on children. Therefore, parents should take responsibility to restrict screen time and carefully select content for their children. Government also has to take action in punishment of cybercrime and cyber bullying. This will help ensure teenages to take maximize profits from social media and mitigate adverse outcome.