Foreign visitors should pay more than local visitors for cultural and historical attractions. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is sometimes argued that tourists from overseas should be charged more to visit important sites and monuments, while local residents pay with a cheaper price. However, I completely disagree with this idea. On the one hand, the argument in favour with the idea that higher price is charged to the overseas tourists would be that historical and cultural attractions often depends on the state subsidies to keep them going. Resident population already pays money to these sites through the tax system. Nevertheless, I think it is a very shortsighted view. Tourists has contributed to the economy of host country by spending their money with a wide range of goods and services, including food, accommodation, and travel. It may see unfair if they should pay higher prices to visit tourist sites. The governments and inhabitants should be happy to subsidise important tourist attractions, and encourage people around the world to visit them. On the other hand, if travellers have to pay more when visiting cultural heritage, they may decide not to go to that country. In the UK, for example, the tourism industries and many related jobs rely on visitors coming the country to see places like Windsor Castle and Saint Paul's Cathedral. These two sites charge the same price regardless nationality, and this helps to promote the important heritage sites. Moreover, if overseas tourists stopped coming due to higher prices, there would be a risk of insufficient funding for the maintenance of these important buildings. As a result, it may influence to the decrease of host country's tourism sector. In conclusion, I believe that every effort should be made to attract tourists from overseas, and it would be counterproductive to make them pay more than local residents.