Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the would are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can government take to discourage people from using their cars?

Over the last 30 years, many towns in the world have been suffering from traffic jam issues caused by increasing the total number of drivers who drive their own cars. I believe it is a true problem that we are facing nowadays and the government should improve public transportation in order to gain more people travelling by non-private vehicles. The improvement of the quality of cars followed by decreasing prices has been successful in attracting a lot of individuals from various regions and it causes almost every family to have at least one car. In Jakarta, for example, the vast majority of citizens commute using a car or motorcycle and this condition accounts for roads are fulfilled by these, particularly in the rush time such as mornings and late evenings. The biggest reason why they use private cars is because of cheaper if we compare them with other types provided by the local council. In addition, using private vehicles therefore is more convinient. It is happening because several public transportation have poor management and uncompleted facilities. To tackle this, the government should focus on developing public areas especially regarding with transportation. It must be accessiablr, cheap and provid proper utilities in order to gain inhabitants commuting by non-private cars. In terms of easy to access, the authorities have to build stations in busy areas such as offices and market centres. Besides that, not only focus on raising the quantity, but the government must therefore lower the price of public transportation, so thus it can compete with their own vehicles. Moreover, local councils should provide better facilities and equipment to boost people's attention. In conclusion, I fully believe that the traffic jam has become a huge problem nowadays. This situation is happening as a result of the lowering prices of cars by companies so people can afford to buy easily. The best measurement to discourage citizens from using private vehicles is by providing a high-quality of public transportation.