Many students choose to study at college and universities that are far away from the places where they grew up. Do the benefits outweigh the drawbacks?

An increasing number of students select studying at colleges and universities that are far away from their hometown. Although there are some demerits such as separation from your parents’ protection and higher costs, merits of standing on one’s own feet far outweigh these demerits. Some people insist that living and studying away from their hometown risks their lives by getting out of the protection by their parents and costs them more. In other words, they are more vulnerable to strangers and must struggle more to establish their relationship from a scratch as well as pay more for living and traveling. A good example for this is freshmen of a college or a university; not only they must be accustomed to the new environment, but they also must search for the new friendship and mentors from the beginning and some of them even suffer from stalking by a stranger when they start to live alone, which is truly dangerous. Furthermore, they must pay the extra amount of money for living costs that otherwise would not be needed. However, all of these are solvable and are neglectable when you consider your whole life span. On the other hand, the main benefits of going to colleges and universities in a distant place from your hometown are that you can acquire survival skills and that you can more concentrate on yourself; you nourish the skills that are necessary for today’s competitive society and become more independent. For instance, people with experiences of serving military for certain years usually more independent and more skillful at communicating or cooperating with others than those without. In conclusion, even though there are some struggles with relationship and the extra expenses at first, advantages of being independent by studying far away from your hometown far outweighs these drawbacks.