In a number of countries some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing high speed railway lines for inter-city travel. Others believe this money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

When it comes to allocate fund for transportation, the debate between spending money on high speed railway versus on improving existing public transport is a prominent one. This approach has both positive and negative implication and this essay discusses both the approach before giving final opinion. To embark, regarding first approach of spending money on high speed rail network, this way of allocating money helps in the better transport and enhanced economy. In other words, this will enable us with high unparalled speed, which basically reduces the travel time and also enhances the business transaction like decreasing frieght service time so that transfer of material becomes more convenient. In contrast, this way of spending is sometime time consuming and sometimes takes many years or even decade to build. This cause huge inconvenience to local population. For instance, during construction of delhi metro, huge chunks of population had to go through lot of difficulties during travelling here and there. Secondly, the spending money in already existing mode of transport is also good as it required less time to upgrade and people had to suffer less. Also, this service is applicable in every nook and corner of the city where the high speed trains cannot reach. But it has its own demerits like it can cause huge environment pollution and huge depletion of resources. Also, it needs time to time renovation services for extracting maximum output from it. In conclusion, there are both positive and negative implication associated with the thesis statement. In my opinion it is good that we have a faster way of communication but it has to be made if situation persists that means it totally depends on the necessity of any city.