Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Sweet foods and drinks can cause many health issues. Thus some individuals believe these products should become pricy to reduce the amount of consumption. Personally, I strongly disagree with this statement because it isn’t logical and can lead to other problems. To begin with, governments and food producers can never force people to purchase some products and avoid buying the other ones. Most of the time, when a society bans an item or increases its price significantly, individuals become more curious about it and find illegal ways to obtain it. For example, decades ago in Iran, buying and selling DVDs was prohibited. However, the rate of purchasing them in the market was rising day after day and it was because of smuggling. Moreover, as soon as the government decides to increase the price of sweets manufactured, the public will definitely rush into stores and buy whatever they can to hoard. It can eventually influence the amount of sugar consumed, or even worse, create a black market for sweets and make the market imbalanced. For example, ten years ago this situation happened in Iran, about bread. The government announced that they want to limit the amount of bread baked to curb carbohydrates in individual’s diets. The result was that huge groups of people attacked the bakeries to access more bread. In conclusion, although at first, this solution seems reasonable due to helping people be healthier, and make new habits about great diet, if you observe it deeper, you will find out that there is no way to make some kinds of food unavailable. Therefore, individuals should follow a healthy lifestyle themselves and not be under pressure.