Many people joint distance-learning program (study material, post, TV, Internet) and study at home, some people think it cannot bring the same benefit as attending colleges or universities. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people enrol in distance learning program and study from home. According to some people, distance learning cannot bring the same advantage of face-to-face learning in the colleges and universities. I personally agree with this statement because distance learning restricts the opportunity of attending classrooms physically, attending lectures, share learnings and experiences, participating in extra-curricular activities and so on. The purpose of education is not only attending classes and exams, or submitting assessments. Education should focus on exchanging learning outcomes and experiences, assisting each other with assessments, learning about each other's problems and finding a solution. If the learning process is distance, it is hard for the studnets to take part in those procesess. For example, in Deakin University, most of the courses are online now, and in a survey, the students provide their negative feedbacks about how distance learning restricts their achievements of some specific educationl education goals. Universities and colleges should focus on extra-curricular activities besides academic learnings because it helps to increase the knowledge and skills of the students. Students can involve themselves in several campaigns, awareness programs, volunteer opportunities and so on. It not only increase their acdemic skills but also increase the opportunity of getting jobs in future. For instance, in the UK, the opportinity of securing a job is highly likely for those students who attend in extra-curricular activities in their university lives. To conclude, learning should not be restricted to attending class lectures and exams only, rather it should be involved in other activities related to learning.