Cultures around the world are becoming more similar that ever before. Why is this happening? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Cultures around the globe have been more alike than previous years. This phenomenon may occur due to easier access to worldwide cultural informations. Personally, I think this issue may bring negative effects as it reduces the country’s authentic identity. The topic regarding similar cultures happens because it is far simpler to access global informations over the internet nowadays. The can influence a populations behavior, thus altering their value similar to other country. For instance, a lot of Arabic countries has been allowing the use of revealing swimsuits in public facilities for tourists this last decade, imitating western culture. More residence of the country are becoming more open-minded regarding this issue due to the influence of other nations around the internet. As the result of this similarity of traditions and behavior among countries, it may reduce the diversity of cultures worldwide, slowly diminishing a country’s identity. Moreover, neighboring countries might claim our country’s heritage as theirs, further increasing the nation’s cultural poverty. For example, Indonesia and Malaysia has been fighting for ownership over batik as national’s clothing over the last few years. Each side claimed that batik is a part of their culture and exclusively belongs to them. There is no panacea for this problem, as both countries think that losing their rights over batik will cost them their rich collection of traditions. In conclusion, similarity in national cultures may be a result from the abundance of accessible worldwide information. Yet, this may cause an original identity crisis for the nations concerned.