Some people from poor and rural backgrounds find it difficult to get a university education. Universities should make it easier for such groups to enrol. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that Universities should provide a special reservation to students who come from poor rural families. I completely agree with this because of 2 reasons that is it helps in increasing literacy rates and also ensures that poverty is eradicated. Firstly, Literacy rates in urban cities are usually very high, but in the villages, this number is significantly low because of the lack of financial support and educational facilities. If universities help such groups by reserving a seat for them it would help in improving this figure. For example, in the USA most of the universities reserve 10% of the total seats for individuals who come from rural areas, as a result, the illiteracy rates from such places have dropped by 7%. Hence, I believe that such reservation programmes are very much needed. Secondly, Education is one of the best solutions to problems like poverty. Hence, colleges need to admit people who are poor and belong to small towns, as this would help the nation to eliminate poverty. When poor people graduate from college and get a job they start earning really well, therefore they achieve financial stability in future. For instance, an article published in 'The Hindu', in 2019, provided statistics on 100 families,who were belonging to an economically weaker section, who came out of poverty when their children graduated and got a job because of their regular income. Therefore, I believe that free education or direct admission for such individuals would really help the nation to grow economically.